

Meeting Minutes - Final

Joint MTC ABAG Legislation Committee

Jesse Arreguin, Chair Sam Liccardo, Vice Chair
Members
Eddie Ahn, David Canepa, Damon Connolly,
Carol Dutra-Vernaci, Pat Eklund, Victoria Fleming,
Barbara Halliday, Dave Hudson, Gordon Mar,
Karen Mitchoff, Alfredo Pedroza, David Rabbitt,
Belia Ramos, Libby Schaaf, and Jim Spering
Non-Voting Members

Dorene M. Giacopini and Vacant

Friday, May 13, 2022

9:45 AM

REMOTE (In person option available)

1. Call to Order / Roll Call / Confirm Quorum

Present: 11 - Committee Member Hudson, Committee Member Halliday, Committee Member

Eklund, Committee Member Connolly, Committee Member Spering, Committee Member Ahn, Committee Member Pedroza, Committee Member Mitchoff,

Committee Member Ramos, Committee Member Schaaf and Committee Member

Fleming

Absent: 6 - Vice Chair Liccardo, Chair Arreguin, Committee Member Mar, Committee Member

Canepa, Committee Member Dutra-Vernaci and Committee Member Rabbitt

Non-Voting Member Present: Commissioner Giacopini

Ex Officio Voting Members Present: Commission Chair Pedroza and

Commission Vice Chair Josefowitz

Ad Hoc Non-Voting Member Present: Commissioner Worth

2. Consent Calendar

Upon the motion by Committee Member Halliday and second by Committee Member Eklund, the Consent Calendar was unanimously approved. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 11 - Committee Member Hudson, Committee Member Halliday, Committee Member Eklund, Committee Member Connolly, Committee Member Spering, Committee Member Ahn, Committee Member Pedroza, Committee Member Mitchoff, Committee Member Ramos, Committee Member Schaaf and Committee Member

Fleming

Absent: 6 - Vice Chair Liccardo, Chair Arreguin, Committee Member Mar, Committee Member Canepa, Committee Member Dutra-Vernaci and Committee Member Rabbitt

2a. 22-0767 Approval of Joint MTC ABAG Legislation Committee Minutes of the April

8, 2022 Meeting

Action: Committee Approval

Attachments: 2a 2022-04-08 Joint MTC ABAG Legislation Committee Meeting

Minutes Draft.pdf

2b. 22-0768 Legislative History

Detailed list of bills the ABAG and MTC are tracking in Sacramento,

including those ABAG or MTC supports or opposes.

Action: Information

Presenter: Georgia Gann Dohrmann

Attachments: 2b May Legislative History.pdf

3. State Legislation

22-0833 3a. Assembly Bill 2237 (Friedman): Transportation Funding and State Climate

Goals

Prohibits regions from funding projects not aligned with state climate goals and adds state climate goal alignment requirements to projects funded

from local transportation tax measures.

Action: Oppose Unless Amended / MTC Commission Approval

Presenter: Georgia Gann Dohrmann

Attachments: 11a - 22-0833 - AB 2237 (Friedman).pdf

Rich Hedges was called to speak.

Upon the motion by Committee Member Hudson and second by Committee Member Eklund, an oppose unless amended position AB 2237 (Friedman) was adopted to be forwarded to the Commission for approval. Staff requested Acting Chair Ramos to concur with the emergency procedure to communicate a position on AB 2237 (Friedman) prior to the Commission meeting date. Acting Chair Ramos indicated concurrence. This is in conformance with MTC Resolution No.

1058, Revised, MTC Commission Procedures Manual.

The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 11 - Committee Member Hudson, Committee Member Halliday, Committee Member Eklund, Committee Member Connolly, Committee Member Spering, Committee Member Ahn, Committee Member Pedroza, Committee Member Mitchoff, Committee Member Ramos, Committee Member Schaaf and Committee Member Fleming

Absent: 6 -Vice Chair Liccardo, Chair Arreguin, Committee Member Mar, Committee Member

Canepa, Committee Member Dutra-Vernaci and Committee Member Rabbitt

3b. 22-0825 Assembly Constitutional Amendment 14 (Wicks): Housing Opportunities

for Everyone Act

Assembly Constitutional Amendment (ACA) 14 would dedicate five percent each year from the state's General Fund over a ten-year period to address California's affordable housing and homelessness crisis.

Action: Support / ABAG Executive Board Approval

Support / MTC Commission Approval

Presenter: Georgia Gann Dohrmann

Attachments: 11b - 22-0825 - ACA 14 (Wicks).pdf

Upon the motion by Committee Member Hudson and second by Committee Member Eklund, a support position on ACA 14 (Wicks) was adopted to be forwarded to the ABAG Executive Board and Commission for approval. Staff requested Acting Chair Ramos to concur with the emergency procedure to communicate a position on ACA 14 (Wicks) prior to the ABAG Executive Board and Commission meeting dates. Acting Chair Ramos indicated concurrence. This is in conformance with MTC Resolution No. 1058, Revised, MTC Commission Procedures Manual. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 11 - Committee Member Hudson, Committee Member Halliday, Committee Member Eklund, Committee Member Connolly, Committee Member Spering, Committee Member Ahn, Committee Member Pedroza, Committee Member Mitchoff, Committee Member Ramos, Committee Member Schaaf and Committee Member Fleming

Absent: 6 - Vice Chair Liccardo, Chair Arreguin, Committee Member Mar, Committee Member Canepa, Committee Member Dutra-Vernaci and Committee Member Rabbitt

3c. <u>22-0829</u> Fiscal Year (FY) 2022-23 State Budget Update

Update on FY 2022-23 State Budget Negotiations and Governor's FY 2022-23 May Revise Proposal.

Action: Information

Presenter: Rebecca Long

Attachments: 3c Fiscal Year 2022-23 State Budget Update.pdf

4. Federal Legislation

4a. 22-0769 Washington D.C. Legislative Update

Report on key legislative, funding and political developments over the past month from Washington, D.C. prepared by the Summit Strategies team.

Action: Information

Presenter: Georgia Gann Dohrmann

Attachments: 4ai MTC May 2022 MTC Report.pdf

5. Public Comment / Other Business

6. Adjournment / Next Meeting

The next meeting of the Joint MTC ABAG Legislation Committee will be Friday, June 10, 2022 at 9:45 a.m. Any changes to the schedule will be duly noticed to the public.