



Meeting Minutes

Metropolitan Transportation Commission

Scott Haggerty, Chair Alfredo Pedroza, Vice Chair

Friday, November 20, 2020

9:45 AM

Board Room - 1st Floor (REMOTE)

Call Remote Meeting to Order

1. Roll Call / Confirm Quorum

Present: 15 - Commission Chair Haggerty, Commission Vice Chair Pedroza, Commissioner Ahn,

Commissioner Bruins, Commissioner Connolly, Commissioner Cortese,

Commissioner Dutra-Vernaci, Commissioner Josefowitz, Commissioner Liccardo,

Commissioner Mackenzie, Commissioner Rabbitt, Commissioner Ronen, Commissioner Schaaf, Commissioner Spering, and Commissioner Worth

Absent: 3 - Commissioner Glover, Commissioner Papan, and Commissioner Slocum

Non-Voting Commissioners Present: Commissioner Tavares and Commissioner Giacopini Non-Voting Commissioner Absent: Commissioner Stracner

2. Chair's Report (Haggerty)

2a. <u>21-0001</u> MTC Resolution No. 4441 - Resolution of Appreciation for Commissioner

Dave Cortese on the occasion of his departure from MTC.

Action: Commission Approval

Commissioner Schaaf left at the beginning of agenda item 2.

Upon the motion by Commissioner Spering and the second by Commissioner Worth, the Commission unanimously adopted MTC Resolution No. 4441. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 13 - Commission Chair Haggerty, Commission Vice Chair Pedroza, Commissioner Ahn,

Commissioner Bruins, Commissioner Connolly, Commissioner Dutra-Vernaci, Commissioner Josefowitz, Commissioner Liccardo, Commissioner Mackenzie, Commissioner Rabbitt, Commissioner Ronen, Commissioner Spering and

Commissioner Worth

Absent: 4 - Commissioner Glover, Commissioner Papan, Commissioner Schaaf and

Commissioner Slocum

Abstain: 1 - Commissioner Cortese

2b. <u>21-0002</u> MTC Resolution No. 4442 - Resolution of Appreciation for Commissioner

Tony Tavares on the occasion of his departure from MTC.

Action: Commission Approval

Commissioner Rabbitt left during agenda item 2b.

Upon the motion by Commissioner Mackenzie and the second by Commissioner Ronen, the Commission unanimously adopted MTC Resolution No. 4442. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 13 - Commission Chair Haggerty, Commission Vice Chair Pedroza, Commissioner Ahn, Commissioner Bruins, Commissioner Connolly, Commissioner Cortese,

Commissioner Dutra-Vernaci, Commissioner Josefowitz, Commissioner Liccardo, Commissioner Mackenzie, Commissioner Ronen, Commissioner Spering and

Commissioner Worth

Absent: 5 - Commissioner Glover, Commissioner Papan, Commissioner Rabbitt, Commissioner Schaaf and Commissioner Slocum

2c. <u>21-0003</u> MTC Resolution No. 4443 - Resolution of Appreciation for Commissioner Jeannie Bruins on the occasion of her departure from MTC.

Action: Commission Approval

Upon the motion by Commissioner Liccardo and the second by Commissioner Dutra-Vernaci, the Commission unanimously adopted MTC Resolution No. 4443. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 12 - Commission Chair Haggerty, Commission Vice Chair Pedroza, Commissioner Ahn,
Commissioner Connolly, Commissioner Cortese, Commissioner Dutra-Vernaci,
Commissioner Josefowitz, Commissioner Liccardo, Commissioner Mackenzie,
Commissioner Ronen, Commissioner Spering and Commissioner Worth

Absent: 5 - Commissioner Glover, Commissioner Papan, Commissioner Rabbitt, Commissioner Schaaf and Commissioner Slocum

Abstain: 1 - Commissioner Bruins

Following Commissioner comments during the Chair's Report:

Roland Lebrun was called to speak.

Julie Pierce was called to speak.

3. Policy Advisory Council Report (Randi Kinman)

Randy Kinman gave her report.

Rich Hedges was called to speak.

4. Executive Director's Report (McMillan)

Therese McMillan gave her report.

Jovanka Beckles was called to speak.

Richard Marcantonio was called to speak.

Emily Wheeler was called to speak.

21-0013

5. Commissioner Comments

Commissioner Liccardo left during agenda item 5.

6. Consent Calendar:

Hayden Miller was called to speak.

Upon the motion by Commissioner Bruins and the second by Commissioner Mackenzie, the Consent Calendar was unanimously approved by the following vote:

Aye: 12 - Commission Chair Haggerty, Commission Vice Chair Pedroza, Commissioner Ahn,
Commissioner Bruins, Commissioner Connolly, Commissioner Cortese,
Commissioner Dutra-Vernaci, Commissioner Josefowitz, Commissioner Mackenzie,
Commissioner Ronen, Commissioner Spering and Commissioner Worth

Absent: 6 - Commissioner Glover, Commissioner Liccardo, Commissioner Papan,
Commissioner Rabbitt, Commissioner Schaaf and Commissioner Slocum

6a. <u>20-1511</u> Minutes of the October 28, 2020 meeting

Action: Commission Approval

6b. <u>20-1512</u> Monthly Report of Transit Operator Statistics

Action: Information

Programming and Allocations Committee

6c. <u>20-1338</u> MTC Resolution Nos. 3989, Revised and 4202, Revised. Revisions to the

MTC exchange program and the One Bay Area Grant Program (OBAG 2) to program \$1.6 million to 5 projects within the Priority Conservation Area

(PCA) Grant Program.

Action: Commission Approval

Presenter: Mallory Atkinson

6d. 20-1471 MTC Resolution Nos. 4035, Revised and 4202, Revised. Revisions to the

One Bay Area Grant program (OBAG 1 and 2), including minor revisions within the Transit Performance Initiative, Regional Strategic Investments,

and the Santa Clara County programs.

Action: Commission Approval

Presenter: Mallory Atkinson

6e. 20-1480 MTC Resolution No. 4431, Revised. Allocation of \$2.4 million in FY

2020-21 State Transit Assistance (STA) funds to WestCAT to support

transit operations.

Action: Commission Approval

Presenter: Cheryl Chi

Committee Reports

7. Joint MTC Planning Committee with the ABAG Administrative Committee (Spering)

Commissioner Liccardo returned and Commissioner Giacopini arrived during agenda item 7.

7a. 20-1519 Plan Bay Area 2050 Final Blueprint: Alternative to Strategy EN7 (Telecommuting)

Proposed action on MTC Resolution No. 4437, Revised, integrating a potential alternative to the Plan Bay Area 2050 telecommuting strategy (EN7).

Action: Commission Approval

Presenter: Dave Vautin

Written public comments were received from Michael Hursh (General Manager of AC Transit), Robert Powers (General Manager of BART), Rosanne Foust (President of SAMCEDA), Tim Sbranti of Innovation Tri-Valley Leadership Group, and Steve Raney.

Upon the motion by Commissioner Spering and the second by Commissioner Ronen, the Commission unanimously adopted the Plan Bay Area 2050 Final Blueprint: Alternative to Strategy EN7 (Telecommuting). The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 13 - Commission Chair Haggerty, Commission Vice Chair Pedroza, Commissioner Ahn, Commissioner Bruins, Commissioner Connolly, Commissioner Cortese, Commissioner Dutra-Vernaci, Commissioner Josefowitz, Commissioner Liccardo, Commissioner Mackenzie, Commissioner Ronen, Commissioner Spering and Commissioner Worth

Absent: 5 - Commissioner Glover, Commissioner Papan, Commissioner Rabbitt, Commissioner Schaaf and Commissioner Slocum

8. Public Comment / Other Business

Written public comment was received from Voices for Public Transportation Coalition organizations, members and supporters.

Sheela Gunn-Cushman was called to speak.
Hoai-An Truong was called to speak.
Kevin Ma was called to speak.
Hayden Miller was called to speak.
Monica Mallong was called to speak.

21-0015

9. Adjournment / Next Meetings:

The next meeting of the Metropolitan Transportation Commission is scheduled to be held on Wednesday, December 16, 2020 at the Bay Area Metro Center, 375 Beale Street, San Francisco, CA 94105 (remotely and by webcast as appropriate depending on the status of any shelter in place orders).