

Meeting Minutes - Final

Joint MTC Planning Committee with the ABAG Administrative Committee

MTC Committee Members:

James P. Spering, Chair David Rabbitt, Vice Chair

Eddie Ahn, Damon Connolly, Dave Cortese, Sam Liccardo, Jake Mackenzie, Warren Slocum Non-Voting Members: Dorene M. Giacopini and Jimmy Stracner

Friday, July 10, 2020

9:15 AM

Board Room - 1st Floor (Remote)

*** PLEASE NOTE MEETING START TIME ***

1. Roll Call / Confirm Quorum

Present: 7 - Commissioner Connolly, Commissioner Cortese, Commissioner Liccardo,

Commissioner Mackenzie, Vice Chair Rabbitt, Chair Spering and Commissioner

Ahn

Absent: 1 - Commissioner Slocum

Non-Voting Members Present: Commissioner Giacopini and Commissioner Stracner Ex Officio Voting Members Present: Commission Chair Haggerty and Commission Vice Chair Pedroza

Ad Hoc Non-Voting Member Present: Commissioner Josefowitz and Commissioner Worth

ABAG Administrative Committee Members Present: Arreguin, Chavez, Cortese, Haggerty, Mackenzie, Mitchoff, Peralez, Pierce, Rabbitt, and Romero.

1a. ABAG Compensation Announcement (Clerk of the Board)

2. ABAG Administrative Committee Consent Calendar

2a. 20-0963 Approval of ABAG Administrative Committee Summary Minutes of the

June 12, 2020 9:45 a.m. and June 12, 2020 1:30 p.m. Meetings

Action: ABAG Administrative Committee Approval

Attachments: 2a ABAG AC Minutes 20200612 MTC PLNG and MTC EXEC

Draft.pdf

2b. <u>20-0962</u> ABAG Resolution No. 02-2020, Revised: Plan Bay Area 2050: Additional

Priority Development Areas (PDAs) Submitted for Final Blueprint

Action: Approval / ABAG Executive Board

Presenter: Mark Shorett

Attachments: 2b ABAG Resolution No 2020 15 PBA50 PDAs Round 2...pdf

Page 1 Printed on 9/11/2020

3. MTC Planning Committee Consent Calendar

Upon the motion by Commissioner Mackenzie and second by Vice Chair Rabbitt, the MTC Planning Committee Consent Calendar was unanimously approved. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 5 - Commissioner Cortese, Commissioner Mackenzie, Vice Chair Rabbitt, Chair Spering and Commissioner Ahn

Absent: 3 - Commissioner Connolly, Commissioner Liccardo and Commissioner Slocum

3a. 20-0964 Approval of MTC Planning Committee Minutes of the June 12, 2020

Meeting

Action: MTC Planning Committee Approval

Attachments: 3a MTC PLNG Minutes Jun12 2020.pdf

Commissioner Connolly and Commissioner Liccardo arrived after the approval of the Consent Calendar.

4. Information

4a. 20-0955 Plan Bay Area 2050 Draft Blueprint: Key Findings

Presentation on the findings from the Draft Blueprint analysis, highlighting successes and shortcomings in advance of stakeholder workshops later this month.

<u>Action:</u> Information
<u>Presenter:</u> Dave Vautin

Attachments: 4a PBA50 DraftBlueprintFindings.pdf

Robert Fruchtman was called to speak. Roland Lebrun was called to speak.

Page 2

5. Approval - MTC Planning Committee

5a. 20-0959 Plan Bay Area 2050 Final Blueprint: Key Decisions for the Transportation Element

Recommendations on specific regional discretionary funding levels for the Transportation Element of the Plan Bay Area 2050 Final Blueprint, in advance of broader strategy refinements in September 2020 following robust public engagement.

Action: Commission Approval

Attachments: 8a PBA2050 Final Blueprint Transportation Funding.pdf

8a Public Comments Received (14).pdf

Written public comments were received from: Department of Transportation, District 4 (Tony Tavares); Senator Scott Wiener and Assemblymember David Chiu; Transbay Joint Powers Authority (Nadia Sesay); Caltrain (Jim Hartnett); Victoria DeSmet; Colleen Yudin Cowan; Tesla, Inc. (Dan Chia); Friends of the Downtown Rail Extension; Colleen Yudin Cowan; City of South San Francisco (Richard Garbarino); Town of Windsor (Dominic Foppoli); City and County of San Francisco and the San Francisco County Transportation Authority (London N. Breed and Aaron Peskin); Innovation Tri-Valley Leadership Group (Tim Sbranti); East Bay Leadership Council (Lindy Lavender); Cerro Vista Land & Development (Alan Cerro); City of Pleasanton (Nelson Fialho); City of Dublin (Linda Smith); City of Pleasanton (Brian Dolan); Tri□Valley San Joaquin Valley Regional Rail Authority (Candice Kendall); Tri-Valley Chamber of Commerce Alliance (Dawn P. Argula, Zae Perrin, Inge Houston, Steve Van Dorn, and Stewart Bambino); Shea Homes Northern California (Layne Marceau); Dublin Chamber of Commerce (Inge Houston); City of Pleasanton (Mike Tassano); Sblend Sblendorio; City of Livermore (Marc Roberts); City of Menlo Park (Cecilia Taylor); Bill Naylor; Lynn Wallace Naylor; Hacienda (James Paxson); City of Livermore (Adam Van de Water); SPUR (Laura Tolkoff); Livermore Amador Valley Transit Authority (Michael Tree); Labors 304 (Rafael Gonzales); Hon. Catharine B. Baker; Visit Tri Valley (Tracy Farhad); City of Livermore (John Marchand); and City of Cloverdale (Gus Wolter).

The following members of the public were called to speak: Aly Bonde

of the Oakland Metro Chamber of Commerce; Adina Levin of Friends of Caltrain and Friends of DTX; Tess Lengyel of the Alameda County Transportation Commission; Paul Akinjo of the City of Lathrop; Roland Lebrun; David Hauberton; Bob Woerner of the City of Livermore; John McPartland of BART; and Sadie Graham of the New Transbay Rail Crossing.

Upon the motion by Commissioner Mackenzie and second by Commissioner Cortese, the Plan Bay Area 2050 Final Blueprint: Key Decisions for the Transportation Element was referred to the Commission for approval. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 7 - Commissioner Connolly, Commissioner Cortese, Commissioner Liccardo,
Commissioner Mackenzie, Vice Chair Rabbitt, Chair Spering and Commissioner
Ahn

Absent: 1 - Commissioner Slocum

6. Public Comment / Other Business

Roland Lebrun was called to speak.

7. Adjournment / Next Meeting

The next meeting of the MTC Planning Committee will be Friday, September 11, 2020 at 9:45 a.m. at the Bay Area Metro Center, 375 Beale Street, San Francisco, CA or remotely and by webcast as appropriate depending on the status of any shelter in place orders. Any changes to the schedule will be duly noticed to the public.