



# **Meeting Minutes - Final**

# **Blue Ribbon Transit Recovery Task Force**

#### Members

Monday, June 29, 2020

2:05 PM

Board Room - 1st Floor (REMOTE)

### 1. Roll Call / Confirm Quorum

Present: 30 - Spering, Member Pedroza, Member Haggerty, Member Cortese, Member

Josefowitz, Member Papan, Member Rabbitt, Member Worth, Member McMillan, Member Hursh, Member Powers, Member Ramacier, Member Mulligan, Member Tree, Member Whelan, Member Hartnett, Member Tumlin, Member Fernandez, Member Halls, Member Wu, Member Kinman, Member Kim, Member Lindsay, Member Murphy, Member Currier, Member Griffiths, Member Guardino, Member

Wunderman, Member Rotchy, and Member Ford

Absent: 2 - Member Beall, and Member Chiu

Chad Edison acted as a delegate and voting member of the Task Force in place of David Kim. Actions noted below as "Kim" were taken by Chad Edison.

Nicole Restmeyer acted as a delegate and voting member of the Task Force in place of David Chiu. Actions noted below as "Chiu" were taken by Nicole Restmeyer.

Jonathan Perez acted as a delegate and voting member of the Task Force in place of Jim Beall. Actions noted below as "Beall" were taken by Jonathan.

#### 2. Chair Comments

20-1084 Task Force Decision Making Process

Action: Information

Attachments: Item 2 Task Force Decision Making Process

### 3. Consent Calendar

Upon the motion by Member Hursh and seconded by Member Papan,the Consent Calendar was unanimously approved. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 30 - Spering, Member Pedroza, Member Haggerty, Member Cortese, Member

Josefowitz, Member Papan, Member Rabbitt, Member Worth, Member McMillan, Member Hursh, Member Powers, Member Ramacier, Member Mulligan, Member Tree, Member Whelan, Member Hartnett, Member Tumlin, Member Fernandez, Member Halls, Member Wu, Member Kinman, Member Kim, Member Lindsay, Member Murphy, Member Currier, Member Griffiths, Member Guardino, Member

Wunderman, Member Rotchy and Member Ford

Absent: 2 - Member Beall and Member Chiu

Page 1 Printed on 7/22/2020

**3a.** <u>20-1081</u> Minutes of the June 15, 2020 Meeting

Action: Task Force Approval

Attachments: Item 3a Attach 1 Draft Minutes for 6 15 2020 BRTRTF.

**3b.** 20-1057 BRTRTF#2 Meeting Summary

Action: Task Force Approval

Attachments: Item 3b BRTRTF #2 Meeting Summary Memo

## 4. Near-term Transit Recovery Strategies

**4a.** 20-1032 Transit Public Health and Safety Plan

Transit Operators will present their Transit Public Health & Safety Plan.

Action: Information

Presenter: Steve Kinsey, CivicKnit and Transit Operators

Attachments: Item 4a MTC BRTF - Transit Health Plan Update 2020-06-29

The following individuals spoke on this Item:

Adina Levin; Roland Lebrun; Aleta Dupree;

Eugene Bradley; and

John Courtney, President at Amalgamated Transit Union 265.

**4b.** 20-1033 Near-term Recovery Update

MTC staff will provide a brief update on coordination efforts.

<u>Action:</u> Information

<u>Presenter:</u> MTC Staff

Attachments: Item 4b Attach 1 Updates BRTRTF 6-29-2020

Item 4b Attach 2 Current Service Maps
Item 4b Attach 3 Survey Poll summary

The following individuals spoke on this Item:

Adina Levin; Aleta Dupree; and

Eugene Bradley, founder of the Silicon Valley Transit Users.

**4c.** 20-1058 Correspondence Received for Agenda Item 4

Attachments: Item 4c Correspondence Received

## 5. CARES Phase 2 Funding Distribution Considerations

**5a.** 20-1034 CARES Phase 2 Funding Distribution

MTC staff will present a recommended funding distribution proposal on the remainder of the Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security (CARES) Act funding to transit agencies (approximately \$500 million) for the Task

Force to consider.

<u>Action:</u> Approval <u>Presenter:</u> MTC Staff

Attachments: Item 5a Attach 1 CARES Act

The following individuals spoke on this Item:

Alexis Tan, Santa Clara High School, Silicon Valley Youth Climate Action

Team:

Daniel Huynh, Santa Clara Student;

Peri Plantenberg, Homestead High School, Silicon Valley Youth Climate

Action Team;

Katie Leong, Monta Vista High School, Silicon Valley Youth Climate Action

Team;

Hoai-An Truong, Mothers Out Front;

Helen Deng, Junior High School Student, Silicon Valley Climate Strike;

Carolyn Zhao, High School Student;

Eugene Bradley, founder of Silicon Valley Transit Users;

Roland Lebrun;

Adina Levin, Friends of Caltrain;

Rich Hedges;

John Courtney, President at Amalgamated Transit Union 265; and

Aleta Dupree.

Upon the motion by Member Mulligan and second by Member Hursh, to move the gradient vote on Item 5a, the motion carried by the following vote:

Option 1 (Strongly Agree): Spering, Halls, Hartnett, Hursh, McMillan, Mulligan, Pedroza, Powers,

Rabbitt, Ramacier, Rotchy, Tree, Tumlin, Whelan, Worth, and Wunderman

Option 2 (Reservations): Chiu, Beall, Ford, Guardino, Josefowitz, Murphy, and Papan,

Option 3 (Stand aside): Currier, Cortese, Griffiths, Kinman, and Wu

Option 4 (Block): Fernandez and Lindsay

Abstention: Kim

Task Force Member Haggerty Departed before the Vote.

**5b.** 20-1059 Correspondence Received for Agenda Item 5

<u>Attachments:</u> <u>Item 5b Correspondence Received</u>

### 6. Public Comment /Other Business

The following individuals spoke on this Item: John Courtney,President at Amalgamated Transit Union 265; and Roland Lebrun.

**6a.** <u>20-1060</u> Correspondence Received

Attachments: Item 6a Correspondence Received

- 7. Summary and Next Steps
- 8. Adjournment / Next Meeting

The next meeting of the Blue Ribbon Transit Recovery Task Force will be held Monday, July 20, 2020 at 4:05 p.m. remotely and by webcast as appropriate.