

METROPOLITAN
TRANSPORTATION
COMMISSION

Bay Area Metro Center 375 Beale Street, Suite 800 San Francisco, CA 94105 415.778.6700 www.mtc.ca.gov

Jake Mackenzie, Chair Sonoma County and Cities

Scott Haggerty, Vice Chair Alameda County

Alicia C. Aguirre
Cities of San Mateo County

Tom Azumbrado
U.S. Department of Housing
and Urban Development

Jeannie Bruins Cities of Santa Clara County

> Damon Connolly Marin County and Cities

> > Dave Cortese Santa Clara County

Carol Dutra-Vernaci Cities of Alameda County

Dorene M. GiacopiniU.S. Department of Transportation

Federal D. Glover Contra Costa County

Anne W. Halsted San Francisco Bay Conservation and Development Commission

Nick Josefowitz San Francisco Mayor's Appointee

Jane Kim City and County of San Francisco

> Sam Liccardo San Jose Mayor's Appointee

> > Alfredo Pedroza Napa County and Cities

Julie Pierce Association of Bay Area Governments

Libby Schaaf
Oakland Mayor's Appointee

Warren Slocum San Mateo County

James P. Spering Solano County and Cities

Tony Tavares
California State
Transportation Agency

Amy R. Worth
Cities of Contra Costa County

Steve Heminger Executive Director

Alix Bockelman
Deputy Executive Director, Policy

Andrew B. Fremier
Deputy Executive Director, Operations

Brad Paul
Deputy Executive Director,
Local Government Services

October 10, 2018

City Hall

The Honorable Libby Schaaf

Mayor, City of Oakland

1 Frank H. Ogawa Plaza

Oakland, CA 94612

The Honorable London N. Breed Mayor, City and County of San Francisco City Hall 1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place San Francisco, CA 94102

RE: Transbay Transit Center Peer Review

Dear Mayor Breed and Mayor Schaaf:

Thank you for your letter of October 4th about the current closure of the new Transbay Transit Center. At your request, we have initiated an independent peer review of "the cause of the cracked beams and the plans to make repairs." Our review will be expeditious, but it will be thorough. The owner/operator of the facility – the Transbay Joint Powers Authority (TJPA) – has assured us of its full cooperation with the inquiry.

We have assembled a nationally-recognized panel with expertise in steel structures, fracture mechanics, and metallurgy. We have confirmed participation from the six individuals listed below:

- Michael D. Engelhardt Ph.D., P.E. Professor, Department of Civil, Architectural and Environmental Engineering at the University of Texas at Austin and Director of the Ferguson Structural Engineering Laboratory (Chair)
- Ewa Z. Bauer-Furbush, P.E. District Engineer at Golden Gate Bridge, Highway and Transportation District
- John W. Fisher, PhD. Professor Emeritus of Civil Engineering at Lehigh University and director emeritus of the ATLSS Engineering Research Center
- Brian Kozy, PhD., P.E., Principal Engineer at the Federal Highway Administration
- Thomas A. Sabol, Ph.D., S.E. Principal at Englekirk Structural Engineers and an Adjunct Professor of the Civil and Environmental Engineering Department at UCLA

Mayor Breed and Mayor Schaaf Page 2 of 2 October 10, 2018

• Robert E. Shaw, Jr., P.E., President of the Steel Structures Technology Center and member of the D1 Structural Welding Committee at the American Welding Society

Over the course of the panel's work, we will ensure that you receive regular updates. The panel will produce a final report for presentation to the Metropolitan Transportation Commission and TJPA. Please do not hesitate to contact me with any questions or concerns in the weeks ahead.

Sincerely,

Steve/Heminger

Executive Director

cc:

Jake MacKenzie, Chair, Metropolitan Transportation Commission Mohammad Nuru, Chair, Transbay Joint Powers Authority

J:\SECTION\EXEC\Heminger\L Breed and Schaaf.10.10.18.docx