

METROPOLITAN TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

Bay Area Metro Center 375 Beale Street, Suite 800 San Francisco, CA 94105 415,778,6700 www.mtc.ca.gov

Take Mackenzie, Chair noma County and Citie

Scott Haggerty, Vice Chair

Alicia C. Aguirre Cities of San Mateo County

Tom Azumbrado U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development

Jeannie Bruins Cities of Santa Clara County

Damon Connolly Marin County and Cities

Dave Cortese Santa Clara County

Carol Dutra-Vernaci ies of Alameda County

Dorene M. Giacopini U.S. Department of Transportation

> Federal D. Glover Contra Costa County

Anne W. Halsted San Francisco Bay Conservation and Development Commission

Nick Josefowitz San Francisco Mayor's Appointee

Jane Kim City and County of San Francisco

Sam Liccardo San Jose Mayor's Appointee

Alfredo Pedroza Napa County and Cities

Julie Pierce Association of Bay Area Governments

Bijan Sartipi Transportation Agency

Libby Schaaf Oakland Mayor's Appoin

> Warren Slocum San Mateo County

James P. Spering Solano County and Citie

Amy R. Worth Cities of Contra Costa County

> Steve Heminger Executive Dire

Alix Bockelman Deputy Executive Director, F

Andrew B. Fremier Deputy Executive Director, Operations

Brad Paul Deputy Executive Director, Local Government Services Mr. Bruce De Terra **Division of Transportation Programming** Caltrans P.O. Box 924873 MS-82 Sacramento, CA 94274-0001

Attention: Muhaned Aljabiry

RE: MTC TIP Revision No. 2017-28 – Amendment

Dear Mr. De Terra:

Please be advised that MTC recently made several changes to the 2017 Federal Transportation Improvement Program (TIP). TIP Revision No. 2017-28 revises the U.S. Highway 101 Managed Lanes Project in San Mateo County to maintain consistency with the Amended Regional Transportation Plan, Plan Bay Area 2040, including a net increase in funding of approximately \$363 million.

MTC is required to make an air quality conformity determination for the revised Plan Bay Area 2040 and 2017 TIP, pursuant to the transportation conformity provisions found in 40 CFR Part 93 section 122(g). MTC staff consulted with the Air Quality Conformity Task Force on the approach to the conformity analysis, draft conformity analysis, response to public comments on the draft conformity analysis, and final conformity analysis. Based on the conformity analysis, a positive conformity determination can be made because the Amended Plan Bay Area 2040 and Amended 2017 TIP conform to the federal air quality standards and plans. The air quality conformity finding for the Amended Plan Bay Area 2040 and Amended 2017 TIP was adopted as MTC Resolution No. 4325 and has been mailed to the Federal Transit Administration (FTA) and the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) under separate cover for their review and approval.

TIP financial constraint documentation submitted with this revision shows that MTC's TIP is financially constrained as required by the federal surface transportation programs authorizing legislation and statewide and metropolitan planning and programming regulations.

MTC's 2017 TIP, including Revision No. 2017-28, was developed through a continuing, cooperative, comprehensive transportation planning process in accordance with 23 U.S.C. §134 and 49 U.S.C. Chapter 53 and MTC's Public Participation Plan. The TIP public participation process also serves to satisfy the public involvement requirements of the FTA annual Program of Projects, for applicable funds.

March 28, 2018

Bruce De Terra TIP Revision 2017-28 March 28, 2018 Page 2

The revised TIP entries and the updated fiscal constraint documentation have been emailed to your staff and have been posted at MTC's TIP website at: http://mtc.ca.gov/our-work/fund-invest/transportation-improvement-program. If you have any questions regarding this revision, please contact Adam Crenshaw of my staff at (415) 778-6794 or Karl Anderson at (415) 778-6645.

Sincerely, Shin Bou

Alix A. Bockelman Deputy Executive Director, Policy

Attachments:

- 1. Revision Packet for TIP Revision 2017-28
- 2. MTC Resolution No. 4275, Revised
- cc: Ms. Sylvia Fung, Caltrans District 4
  Ms. Chun Tsung, Caltrans District 4
  Mr. Abhijit J. Bagde, Caltrans Headquarters
  Mr. Masoud Alemi, Caltrans Headquarters
  Mr. Stew Sonnenberg, FHWA
  Ms. Dominique Kraft, FTA
  Mr. Matt Lakin, EPA