

METROPOLITAN
TRANSPORTATION
COMMISSION

February 22, 2017

Bay Area Metro Center 375 Beale Street, Suite 800 San Francisco, CA 94105 415.778.6700 www.mtc.ca.gov

Dave Cortese, Chair

Jake Mackenzie, Vice Chair

Alicia C. Aguirre

Tom Azumbrudo
U.S. Department of Housing
and Urban Development

Jeannie Bruins Cities of Santa Clara County

> Damon Connolly Marin County and Cities

Carol Dutra-Vernaci Cities of Alameda County

Dorene M. Giacopini

Department of Transportation

Federal D. Glover

Scott Haggerty

Anne W. Halsted San Francisco Bay Conservation and Development Commission

Nick Josefowitz San Francisco Mayor's Appointee

Jane Kim City and County of San Francisco

> Sam Liccardo San Jose Mayor's Appointee

> > Alfredo Pedroza Napa County and Cities

Julie Pierce Association of Bay Area Governments

> Bijan Sartipi California State Transportation Agency

Libby Schaaf
Oakland Mayor's Appointee

Warren Slocum San Mateo County

James P. Spering Solano County and Cities

Amy R. Worth
Cities of Contra Costa County

Steve Heminger

Alix Bockelman
Deputy Executive Director, Policy

Andrew B. Fremier

Mr. Muhaned Aljabiry
Division of Transportation Programming
Caltrans
P.O. Box 924873 MS-82

Attention: Abhijit Bagde

Sacramento, CA 94274-0001

RE: MTC TIP Revision No. 2017-06 - Amendment

Dear Mr. Aljabiry:

Please be advised that MTC recently made several changes to the 2017 Federal Transportation Improvement Program (TIP). TIP Revision No. 2017-06 revises 11 projects with a net increase in funding of approximately \$68 million. Among other changes, this revision:

- Updates the scope and funding plan of the Central Contra Costa Transit Authority's Replace 18 30-foot Buses project to reflect the award of approximately \$2.7 million in FTA Low or No Emission Vehicle Deployment Program funds;
- Amends the City of Palo Alto's exempt Bay Area Fair Value Commuting Program
 into the TIP to reflect the award of approximately \$1 million in FTA Mobility on
 Demand Sandbox Program funds;
- Amends two additional exempt projects into the TIP; and
- Updates the funding plan of one individually listed Highway Safety Improvement Program (HSIP) funded project and updates the funding plan and back-up listing of the HSIP grouped listing to reflect the latest information from Caltrans, including the addition of approximately \$25.5 million in HSIP funds.

The modifications made pursuant to this revision do not require a new regional emissions analysis because the projects were found to conform as a part of a previous analysis, pursuant to the transportation conformity provisions found in 40 CFR Part 93 section 122(g).

MTC's 2017 TIP, including Revision No. 2017-06, was developed through a continuing, cooperative, comprehensive transportation planning process in accordance with 23 U.S.C. §134 and 49 U.S.C. Chapter 53 and MTC's Public Participation Plan. TIP financial constraint documentation submitted with this revision shows that MTC's TIP is

Muhaned Aljabiry TIP Revision 2017-06 February 22, 2017 Page 2

financially constrained as required by the federal surface transportation programs authorizing legislation and statewide and metropolitan planning and programming regulations. MTC's 2017 TIP, as revised with TIP Revision No. 2017-06, remains in conformity with the applicable State Implementation Plan (SIP) for air quality and the revision does not interfere with the timely implementation of the Transportation Control Measures contained in the SIP.

The revised TIP entries and the updated fiscal constraint documentation have been emailed to your staff and have been posted at MTC's TIP website at: http://mtc.ca.gov/our-work/fund-invest/transportation-improvement-program. If you have any questions regarding this revision, please contact Adam Crenshaw of my staff at (415) 778-6794.

Sincerely,

Alix A. Bockelman

Deputy Executive Director, Policy

Attachments:

- 1. Revision Packet for TIP Revision 2017-06
- 2. MTC Resolution No. 4275, Revised
- cc: Ms. Sylvia Fung, Caltrans District 4
 - Ms. Chun Tsung, Caltrans District 4
 - Mr. Abhijit J. Bagde, Caltrans Headquarters
 - Mr. Masoud Alemi, Caltrans Headquarters
 - Ms. Cecilia Crenshaw, FHWA
 - Ms. Dominique Paukowits, FTA
 - Mr. Matt Lakin, EPA